Adjusting Loki to our full-time schedules

1355724146782

I’ve been on a blogging hiatus since I started working at my new job, and I’m finally starting to adjust to my new lifestyle of waking up at 7am, coming home at 8pm, and sleeping at 10pm. Commuting one hour each way to work wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be.

Loki is almost 6 months now, and you might be wondering how I’m able to raise a puppy when both me and Andrew have full-time jobs. Honestly, if it wasn’t for Andrew’s work schedule being 3-days on and 4-days off, I don’t know how I would do it. The past 2 weeks have been especially challenging since we’re both adjusting to the new schedule. Prior to my new job, I spent a lot of time with Loki and made sure he got his 3 daily walks, worked on training, etc. His recall was fairly good outdoors, and he generally responded to his name and the “come” command. When I took him out today (I haven’t really trained him in 2 weeks), it was like my past 2 months of training completely vanished. He responded to his name 50% of the time, and the “come” command was completely forgotten. Treats also had no effect on him outdoors, which is interesting because he used to respond to treats. This leads me to believe that:

1. Our treats aren’t smelly or good enough for him
2. He isn’t getting taken out enough, and the outdoor environment is too stimulating for him

I’m guessing its more of #2 than #1, which is frustrating because I spend a lot of time working on his “come” recall. This week will be different though – Loki will be staying with me for the entire week. I’ll be waking up even earlier to feed and walk him, and then take him to daycare while I work during the day. I’m hoping that this schedule works out, and that he doesn’t pick up any bad manners from daycare. I’ll be updating this blog about my observations on his behavior.

One thought on “Adjusting Loki to our full-time schedules

Leave a Reply

